I'm sorry, Suzanne

What would I have given for 10 minutes to talk to Suzanne Vega? I have so many questions, about sources of inspiration, about her creative process, about who she is – admiring the fearlessness required to say what you want to say. But I ended up with much less than that, and I need to get something off my chest…

Suzanne,

We came up to you after the show, and I felt awful for it. I was hoping for a minute to talk, rather than the mass-signature-and-photos session that took place. You were tired, and the day wasn't even close to being over for you – and I couldn't help wondering why you did it anyways, why you came out to the crowd.

My friends say this is the way musicians are, you need your audience and you "feed" it, in a way, that I shouldn't feel bad. But even so, I couldn't suppress this feeling of guilt, the desire to somehow spare you of all this and let you go to sleep or something…

I wanted to say something to make it worthwhile for you somehow, but I couldn't think of anything to say in that position. I decided I'll try to come see you some day in New York – perhaps a more comfortable setup. Maybe I'll have the privilege of listening to you perform "Night Vision" live.

You were my teacher, Suzanne – you taught me that songs need listening, not just hearing. Your lyrics have been my eyes, my heart, my comfort – in many different occasions. If only I could offer you something in return…

But today all I have to offer is an apology – for taking part in the ritual, which I don't think you enjoyed, and my deepest gratitude to you – for being who you are, for coming to Israel despite the hate mail, for putting up with the likes of me…

All my love,

– Atalanta

פוסט זה פורסם בקטגוריה Uncategorized. אפשר להגיע ישירות לפוסט זה עם קישור ישיר.